Saturday, February 4, 2023

Max Duggan wins Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

- Advertisement -

Duggan is the primary Horned Frog to win the nation’s oldest quarterback trophy, which is called after the previous TCU star.

- Advertisement -

FORT WORTH, Texas — TCU senior Max Duggan has been named the 2022 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner. Duggan is the primary Horned Frog to win the nation’s oldest quarterback trophy which is called after the previous TCU star.

Including Duggan, over the previous 15 years, Davey O’Brien Award winners’ groups have mixed for an general document of 188-16 (.922). He is the ninth straight recipient to guide his workforce to the College Football Playoffs and is seeking to grow to be the fourth in that group to assert a nationwide championship.

Duggan has led the Horned Frogs to a 12-1 document and the No. 3 seed within the College Football Playoff. On the 12 months, he accomplished 239 of 368 passes (64.9 %) for 3,321 yards with 30 touchdowns towards 4 interceptions. In addition, he rushed 112 instances for 404 yards and 6 touchdowns.

- Advertisement -

Duggan’s senior season efficiency has already earned him these different awards and finalist nominations:

  • Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year 
  • 2022 All-Big 12 Football First Team
  • Walter Camp Award (awarded to the collegiate American soccer participant of the 12 months, as determined by a gaggle of NCAA coaches and sports activities information administrators)
  • 2022 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm winner (awarded to the nation’s prime upperclassman quarterback in faculty soccer)
  • Heisman Trophy Award finalist

Duggan ranks seventh in yards per go try (9.0), ninth within the nation in passing effectivity (165.5), and is tied for ninth in factors answerable for (218). In addition, he’s twelfth in passing touchdowns (30), sixteenth in passing yards (3,321) and twenty fifth in whole offense (286.5).

- Advertisement -

In 2022, the 6-foot-2, 210-pound quarterback has directed one of many nation’s most prolific offenses. TCU ranks sixth within the NCAA in scoring offense (40.3 factors per sport) and sixteenth in whole offense (473.0 yards per sport).

Ohio State junior C.J. Stroud and USC sophomore Caleb Williams have been award finalists alongside Duggan. Ballots have been distributed following the completion of the finalists’ championship video games on Saturday and voting closed on Sunday morning. 

Seventy whole ballots have been tabulated from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which incorporates choose media members, faculty soccer specialists and former winners. Committee members ranked every participant (1st, 2nd, third) on their poll. 

Three bonus ballots from the Davey O’Brien Fan Vote have been added based mostly on social media fan votes recorded on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Duggan claimed the first-place votes on every platform.

Duggan was named the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award winner stay on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. He might be honored in particular person on Feb. 20 on the forty sixth Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on the Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth.

In 1938, TCU quarterback Davey O’Brien turned the primary participant ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award in the identical 12 months. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. O’Brien was drafted fourth general within the 1939 NFL Draft and earned Pro Bowl honors in his rookie season after setting a National Football League document for season passing yardage. The NFL’s highest-paid participant retired after the 1940 season to grow to be an FBI agent.

The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, and has given away greater than $1.2 million in scholarships and college grants to assist highschool and faculty athletes remodel management on the sector into management in life.

The final 5 winners embody:

  • Bryce Young (Alabama, 2021)
  • Mac Jones (Alabama, 2020)
  • Joe Burrow (LSU, 2019)
  • Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, 2018)
  • Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 2017)

story by Source link

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article