Sunday, November 27, 2022

Signal Users Can Now Change Registered Phone Number Without Losing Chat History: Here’s How

- Advertisement -


Signal has launched a brand new performance that lets customers change their registered telephone quantity on the app, with out dropping their chat historical past. When a person modifications their telephone quantity on Signal, all their contacts will get a in-chat notification that mentions the replace. Since all conversations on Signal are end-to-end encrypted, the moment messaging service hyperlinks the chats to a person’s telephone quantity, which signifies that the conversations usually are not saved and synchronised on the cloud.

- Advertisement -

As per a weblog submit, Signal has now added a brand new characteristic to its apps on Android and iOS that lets customers change their telephone quantity with out dropping chats, teams, and Signal profile. The new characteristic is useful if customers are altering their telephone numbers however want to retain the handsets. To use this characteristic, customers want the newest model — a minimum of Android v5.30.6 or iOS v5.27.1 — of the Signal app.

A help web page mentions that the change-number characteristic shouldn’t be supported if customers can neither ship nor obtain messages on Signal utilizing the present registered telephone quantity, have misplaced or misplaced the gadget, or wiped the telephone clear.

How to alter telephone quantity on Signal

The help web page additionally mentions methods to replace the registered telephone quantity on Signal.

  1. - Advertisement -

    Click on Profile (show image) > Settings (iOS solely) > Account > Change telephone quantity > Continue.

  2. Enter outdated telephone quantity in first area, new telephone quantity in second.

  3. Confirm the brand new quantity. If not, click on on Edit Number.

  4. - Advertisement -

    Follow on-screen directions to finish the registration means of the brand new quantity.

Signal additionally mentions that if one other particular person registers an account with the earlier telephone variety of a person, the outdated person’s chat historical past, teams, and profile won’t get carried over.


Satvik Khare





Source link

- Advertisement -

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article